You can now delete an accidentally sent WhatsApp message

you can now delete accidently sent whatsapp messages

Previously it was impossible to unsend an accidentally sent message. WhatsApp has now officially rolled out a new feature which allows users to delete messages which they did not intend to send. You can either delete it in a group chat or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to someone you’ve not intended to or message contains mistake.

Message you successfully delete will be replace with “This message was deleted” in your recipient’s chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. You have up to seven minutes to delete message after sending. Once the seven minutes elapses, there is no way you can delete the message. This is how to delete messages

  1. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete
  2. Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.

In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipients must be using the latest version WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone

If you or your recipient are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported

Credits: https://www.whatsapp.com